Victoria is working to encourage adoption of Zero Emissions Vehicles (ZEVs) to ensure a timely transition to net-zero emissions by 2050.

One of the biggest (and growing) sources of greenhouse gas emissions is the transport sector – in fact, it accounts for 25% of Victoria’s total carbon emissions. ZEVs - using clean, renewable energy - can provide opportunities to achieve significant reductions in these emissions, while also reducing the amount of air pollution, making our cities and towns more liveable.

The Destination Charging Across Victoria (DCAV) Program provides $5 million in grants to establish a fast-charging network across Victoria. 80% of this fund will be spent on fast-chargers in regional Victoria.

The DCAV program will help businesses, councils and community organisations install public EV fast-charging stations.

The aim of the DCAV program is to establish an EV fast-charging network at key destinations across the state. By creating an EV fast-charging network with power ratings between 11 kW – 100 kW at key tourist destinations and high-use locations, it allows EVs to be charged while EV drivers go about their business. These chargers will provide EVs with 100 km worth of battery power in 10 to 100 minutes.

Destination fast-chargers give EV owners the confidence that they can top up on charge when they need to, reducing ‘range anxiety’. EV owners can find the locations of chargers online (such as and can plan their trip accordingly. By upgrading this critical infrastructure, Victoria is laying the groundwork for the increased take-up of zero emissions vehicles, helping us to reach our target of 50% of all new light vehicle sales to be ZEV by 2030.


The DCAV program aims to establish an electrical vehicle (EV) fast-charging network at key tourist destinations and regional towns across Victoria that will:

  • make EV fast-charging technology readily available at destination locations, including recreational community destinations and high-use locations.
  • ensure even coverage of fast-charging infrastructure that is readily available for Victorians across the state, reducing ‘range anxiety’;
  • create project supply chain and local jobs, i.e. skills, capabilities and services across each service area;
  • consider broader economic and social benefits for Victorian communities; and
  • reduce greenhouse gas emissions.


Applicants that are ready to commence in December 2021 will be looked upon favourably during this assessment process.

$5 million in grants is available to deliver the DCAV program which includes:

  • up to $4 million to support the installation of EV fast-chargers (11 kW – 100 kW fast-chargers) in regional priority towns and locations; and
  • up to $1 million for the installation of EV fast-chargers (11 kW – 100 kW fast-chargers) at metropolitan destinations.

How to apply

Due to the state-wide lockdown, the application close date has been extended from 5pm Friday 30 July 2021 to 5pm Friday 13 August 2021 and must be submitted through Grants Online using the links below.

Start new application

Access saved application

If you require assistance submitting your online application or there is a technical issue with Grants Online, please email or call the Department of Environment, Land, Water and Planning general enquiries number on 136 186.

If you have any queries regarding eligibility or the terms of the grant funding, please email

Program documents

Application Guidelines (DOCX, 2.5 MB) – updated 12 July 2021 (update with two Local Government Areas in Appendix A)

FAQs (DOCX, 313.7 KB) – updated 12 July 2021 (additional FAQs added)

Additional forms - these are mandatory and must be submitted with your application:

Project Plan (DOCX, 58.8 KB)

Project Plan – Appendix 1 (Excel, 35.3 KB)

Project Cash Flow (DOCX, 67.4 KB)

Project Delivery Schedule (DOCX, 52.4 KB)

Project Risk Register (DOCX, 49.1 KB)

Funding Agreements

It is recommended that applicants review the terms and conditions before applying. These do not need to be submitted at the time of application.

For local government, not-for-profit or community organisations, please use this Victorian Common Funding Agreement.

For commercial entities, please use this Commercial Funding Agreement (DOCX, 290.8 KB).

Online information session

An online information session for interested applicants was held on Wednesday, 7 July 2021 via Microsoft Teams. If you were unable to attend and would like a copy of the PowerPoint presentation or have any questions, please email