What are Renewable Energy Zones?

Renewable Energy Zones are regions with the highest potential for renewable energy development.

With necessary upgrades to our electricity grid, we can harness the enormous solar, wind and hydro resources in these regions to provide clean, reliable and affordable energy to all Victorians while delivering jobs and investment for our regions.

Victorian Renewable Energy Zones

The Australian Energy Market Operator’s (AEMO) Integrated System Plan (ISP) identified 6 Victorian Renewable Energy Zones (REZs).

  • Central North
  • Gippsland
  • Murray River
  • Ovens Murray
  • South Victoria
  • Western Victoria

The Victorian Government has committed to developing the REZs to meet the following objectives:

  • ensure that communities, including traditional owners, are engaged in the process
  • provide for the orderly, planned development of renewable energy resources
  • efficiently and effectively expand the grid and connect new generation
  • reduce network congestion and costs

6 Victorian Renewable Energy Zones (REZs)

Renewable Energy Zone Development Plan

The Victorian Government will develop a Renewable Energy Zone Development Plan to ensure that investments are coordinated, timely and deliver positive outcomes for Victoria and local communities.

The first step in the REZ Development Plan is the release of a Directions Paper, which identifies potential projects for investment that could unlock the potential of our REZs.

Victorian Renewable Energy Zones Development Plan Directions Paper (PDF, 7.5 MB)


The REZ Development Plan will be backed by a $540 million REZ Fund, which will be administered by a new body known as VicGrid.

VicGrid will be tasked with the overarching planning and development of Victorian REZs. VicGrid will actively engage with regional communities to ensure appropriate and beneficial development in each REZ. The form and function of VicGrid will be determined following feedback from industry and stakeholders.

How to provide feedback

Written submissions to the REZ Development Plan Directions Paper are welcome before midnight Wednesday, 31 March 2021.

Please email REZDevelopment@delwp.vic.gov.au to submit responses to the Renewable Energy Zone Development Plan Directions Paper.

For any queries regarding the process, please email REZDevelopment@delwp.vic.gov.au.

DELWP may publicly release submissions to the Directions Paper; respondents should indicate where any material is commercial-in-confidence and should not be released.

Page last updated: 18/02/21