On this page:

What is renewable hydrogen?

Renewable hydrogen is produced when energy generated from renewable sources such as the sun, wind, tides or waves powers an electrolyser to convert water into hydrogen gas.

It is an odourless, colourless and lightweight zero-carbon gas. It can then be stored, transported – and used when needed.

Renewable hydrogen offers potential as a clean, safe and reliable fuel source. Hydrogen production is becoming not only cleaner but cheaper. It could sustainably power Victoria's transport, agriculture and manufacturing sectors. While creating jobs across our state.

Support for renewable hydrogen

The Renewable Hydrogen Industry Development Plan

We are building the foundations for a thriving renewable hydrogen economy. This will ensure our state can capture the benefits of this emerging clean energy source.

Working in partnership with businesses, the higher education sector and the community. Developing this sector can potentially drive a range of economic, social and environmental benefits.

The development plan outlines the steps we will take to develop the sector, focusing on:

  • creating long-term jobs through new career pathways and skills clusters
  • enabling the export of renewable energy
  • driving innovation
  • building our skills and capacity in renewable hydrogen
  • reducing greenhouse gas emissions across our industrial, energy and transport sectors.

The plan followed consultation with a range of stakeholders.

Renewable hydrogen grants

We are supporting the emerging hydrogen economy through a range of grant programs.

Victorian hydrogen technology clusters network

Victoria's network of 4 hydrogen clusters is one of the largest state-based cluster networks in Australia.

These clusters bring businesses, universities, innovators, local and state government agencies, and communities together to support and develop renewable hydrogen projects. Members:

  • collaborate on critical research
  • deliver pilot projects
  • work together to build supply chains.

Victorian clusters work with clusters in other states through National Energy Resources Australia’s industry-led Hydrogen Technology Cluster Australia.

The clusters are Gippsland, Clayton, Greater Geelong and the Mallee.

Page last updated: 16/09/22