On this page:

Energy back-up systems

The Victorian Government has supported the installation of energy back-up systems at community hubs in 27 towns.

During power outages, residents can use these hubs to access information, hot water, and device charging.

If you are experiencing a prolonged power outage, and it is safe to stay in your town, reach out to your local council to see if your nearest community hub is open.

If you are not sure if it is safe to stay in your town, please visit VIC Emergency for more details.

Towns with a community hub featuring an energy back-up system can be found below.

Community hubs

Local government areaTown
Cardinia Shire Cockatoo
City of Greater Bendigo Heathcote
Colac Otway Shire Apollo Bay
Corangamite Shire Port Cambell
East Gippsland Shire Mallacoota
Hepburn Shire Daylesford
Macedon Ranges Shire Lancefield
Moorabool Shire Blackwood
Mayne Shire Mortlake
Port Fairy
Mornington Peninsula Shire Balnarring
Red Hill
Nillumbik Shire St Andrews
Surf Coast Shire Lorne
Towong Shire Corryong
Wellington Shire Loch Sport
Yarra Ranges Shire Healesville
Mount Dandenong

Programs building energy back-up systems at Community Hubs are:

Energy Resilience Solutions

In response to the June and October 2021 storms resulting in prolonged power outages, DEECA funded studies to explore energy resilience solutions for affected towns.

These solutions included:

  • energy back-up systems (rooftop solar, batteries, generators) for essential services and community hubs
  • larger town-scale energy solutions known as a microgrid.

$7.5 million has been invested in the installation of energy back-up systems at key community facilities in 24 towns. Installations are underway and will be complete later in 2024.

For more information on the other recommended responses to the 2021 storms, see the Electricity Distribution Network Resilience Review Report.

Find out more

Community Microgrid and Sustainable Energy Program

After the extreme 2019–20 fire season, a study explored resilient energy infrastructure options to help communities during severe weather events.

In May 2021, the Community Microgrid and Sustainable Energy Program was announced.

The program supports installing solar, batteries and other energy resources for essential services, commercial buildings, and households.

These energy back-up systems provide reliable power supply and build energy-resilience in rural communities.

Supported locations include:

  • Mallacoota
  • Omeo
  • Corryong.

Find out more

Page last updated: 27/06/24